

## MEETING OF THE INTERSTATE 81 COMMITTEE

We are concerned about your health, and we are committed to do all we can to reduce the risk and spread of novel coronavirus. Governor Ralph Northam declared a state of emergency in Virginia on Thursday, March 12 in response to COVID-19. In light of this action, we have decided to conduct the October Interstate 81 (I-81) Committee meeting using electronic communications in accordance with Item 4-0.01.g. of Chapter 1289 (2020 Acts of Assembly), as the COVID-19 emergency makes it impracticable or unsafe to assemble in a single location.

The purpose of the meeting is to discuss or transact the business statutorily required or necessary, related to the Interstate 81 Corridor Improvement Program. All committee members will be participating remotely. The public may view the meeting via live stream by clicking the "View video" button at the following link: <a href="http://improve81.org/advisory-committee-and-meetings/advisory-committee-default.asp">http://improve81.org/advisory-committee-and-meetings/advisory-committee-default.asp</a>.

There will be opportunity for public comment during this meeting. Public comment can be submitted by dialing (716) 427-8269, followed by the PIN number 845 948 751# when it is announced that public comment will begin. A caller may be placed on hold until others who have called in earlier have had opportunity to speak. In the event there is an interruption in the broadcast of the meeting, please call (804) 729-6495.

## AGENDA

Friday, October 23, 2020 9:00 a.m.

- 1. Welcome and Opening Remarks Shannon Valentine, Secretary of Transportation
- 2. Election of Chair and Vice-Chair
- 3. Discussion and approval of minutes from October 1, 2019 Chair of the Committee
- 4. I-81 Corridor Improvement Program status David Covington, Director, I-81 Corridor Program Delivery, VDOT
- 5. Multi-Modal Improvements Jennifer Mitchell, Director, DRPT
- 6. Truck Parking Cathy McGhee
  Director, Innovation and Research, VDOT

Agenda Meeting of the I-81 Committee October 23, 2020 Page 2

7. Financial Overview

- Laura Farmer Chief Financial Officer, VDOT

- 8. Public Comment
  - \* Speakers are limited to three minutes or less.
- 9. Closing Remarks

- Chair of the Committee

10. Adjourn

## Members of the Committee

Voting

Delegate Wendy Gooditis, District 10

Delegate Sam Rasoul, District 11

Delegate Chris Hurst, District 12

Delegate Tony Wilt, District 26

Senator John Edwards, District 21

Senator Creigh Deeds, District 25

Senator Todd Pillion, District 40

Chair Frank Friedman, Central Shenandoah PDC

Chair Bradley Grose, Roanoke Valley/Alleghany PDC - Designee: Councilman Bill Bestpitch

Chair Michael Maslaney, New River Valley PDC

Chair Dennis Morris, Northern Shenandoah PDC

Chair Willie Greene, Mount Rogers PDC

Ray Smoot, Jr., Salem District CTB Member

TBD, Bristol District CTB Member

TBD, Staunton District CTB Member

Non-Voting Stephen Brich, VDOT Commissioner Jennifer Mitchell, DRPT Director